VISA REQUIREMENTS FOR FOREIGN NATIONALS AS AT 01/05/04

Citizens of the following countries do NOT require a visa to enter Malta, provided that the stay does not exceed 3 months:

Andorra Latvia

Argentina Liechtenstein (1) Australia Lithuania

Austria (1)(2) Luxembourg (1)(2)

Belgium (1)(2)Malaysia Bolivia Mexico Brazil Monaco Brunei Darussalam New Zealand Bulgaria Nicaragua Canada Norway Chile Panama Costa Rica Paraguay Croatia Poland

Cyprus Portugal (1)(2)
Czech Republic Republic of Korea

Denmark Romania

El Salvador San Marino

Estonia Singapore

Finland Slovak Republic

France (1)(2) Slovenia (1)

Germany (1)(3) Spain (1)(2)

Greece (1) Sweden

GuatemalaSwitzerland (1)(2)HondurasThe Netherlands (1)HungaryUnited Kingdom

Iceland United States of America

Ireland Uruguay
Israel Vatican City
Italy (1) Venezuela

Japan

- (1) May travel to Malta with a valid Identity Card
- (2) May travel to Malta with a passport that has expired within the last 5 years
- (3) May travel to Malta with a passport that has expired within the last year

Please note that those countries in italics are the last batch of countries which is included in the visa exemption list.

Notes:

- Chinese nationals holders of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR) do not require a visa to enter Malta.
- MACAO citizens in possession of a "Regio Administrativa Especial de Macao" passport do not require a visa to enter Malta.
- Visas to holders of Turkish and Tunisian passports are to be issued free. Visas to holders of Moroccan and Algerian passports are to be issued at half the visa fee. Visas to holders of Libyan passports are subject to 10 Libyan Dinars for the issuance of visa. All visa applicants except for Libyan, Turkish and Tunisian passport holders are subject the equivalent of Lm4 administration charge irrespective of whether visa is issued or not.
- Visitors requiring a visa to enter Malta and who undertake day trips of less than 24 hours to another country are exempted from applying and paying for another visa on their re-entry to Malta.

Citizens of countries not mentioned above NEED TO APPLY for an Entry or a Transit Visa before proceeding to Malta.